2011 Wellcome Trust book Prize Winner

This year’s winner of the Wellcome Trust Book Prize is Alice LaPlante for her book Turn of Mind. This is LaPlante’s debut novel and the first novel to win the prize. The story is from the perspecive of an eminent former surgeon who is in the last stages of Alzheimers who is suspected of the murder of her best friend. As the story progresses it reflects the state of the narrator’s mind as she enters the last stages of dimentia.

Other titles shortlisted for the prize:

The Emperor of all Maladies: A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee

Nemesis by Philip Roth

The Two Kinds of Decay by Sarah Manguso

My Dear I Wanted to Tell You by Louisa Young

State of Wonder by Ann Pratchett

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: